Over view of NCT of Delhi legislative results - Ruling years of various parties and Legislative constituency details

by theDataTalks . 17 Feb 2019

Ruling Parties:

Unlike other Indian states/union territories, Delhi was not having the same status from 1951. In 1951 Delhi was a Part-C state and “Chaudhary Brahm Prakash” became the first chief minister of Delhi. In 1956, it was made as a Union territory under the direct control of President of India. In 1966 the assembly was replaced by “Delhi Metropolitan Council” which is completely controlled by the Governor of Delhi and the council had no legislative powers. In 1991 the council was replaced by Delhi legislative assembly and the “union territory of Delhi” was formally called as National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT of Delhi). NCT of Delhi is a union territory and it has its own legislature like Puducherry.

Below is the time-line of the status of “NCT of Delhi”:

1951 to 1956 – Part-C state (had only one election in 1951)
1956 to 1966 – Union territory under the direct control of President of India (had no election in this period)
1966 to 1990 – Delhi Metropolitan council under the direct control of Governor of Delhi (had three elections in 1972, 1977 & 1983)
From 1991 – Formally known as NCT of Delhi which is a union territory and has its own legislatures (had 6 elections in 1993, 1998, 2003, 2008, 2013 & 2015)

Under the rule of Legislative constituency, out of 32 years (1952-1956 & 1993-2019)

INC (Indian National Congress) ruled for 20 years (1952-1956 & 1998-2013)
BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) ruled for 5 years (1993-1998)
AAP (Aam Aadmi Party) ruled for 7 years (2013–2019)

Under the rule of Delhi Metropolitan council, INC got the majority in 1972 & 1983 elections & JNP (Janata Party) got the majority in 1977 election.

Legislative Constituency (LC):

In the 1951 election, Delhi had 42 constituencies out of which 6 were dual member constituency & 36 were single member constituency. After the abolition of the dual member constituency act in 1961, Delhi had 56 constituencies. From 1993 election NCT of Delhi has 70 constituencies to date.

Delhi cheif ministers list:

The below table shows the list of chief ministers of Delhi with starting date, end date, number of days in the post and party name.

The data file in *.CSV format can be downloaded from Chief ministers of Delhi

Don't be in delusion, understand the reality from historical data | Copyright © 2020 theDataTalks