Over View of Indian Parliamentary results - Summary of ruling years of various political parties in India & list of prime ministers of India.

by theDataTalks . 17 Feb 2019

“Democracy cannot succeed unless those who express their choice are
prepared to choose wisely. The real safeguard of democracy, therefore,
is education.”
― Franklin D. Roosevelt

India had 17 Parliamentary elections (Lok Sabha) & 17 Prime ministers
till 2019. Below is the summary of the total ruling periods of each
party to date.

Indian National Congress (INC - a Centre Left-Wing Party of India)
have ruled India for almost 54.4 years,
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP - a Right-Wing Party of India) have
ruled India for 11.2 years,
Janata Party (JNP) have ruled India for 2.8 years,
Janata Dal (JD) has ruled India for 2.7 years &
Samajwadi Janata Party (SJP) has ruled India for 0.6 years.

The below pie chart shows the ruling periods of various parties in
India. INC has ruled India for more than 75% of the total independent

The below table shows the list of prime ministers of India with starting
date, end date, number of days in the post and party name. “Jawahar
Lal Nehru”
was the longest prime minister of India as of 2019.

Did you know?

When independent India had its first general election in 1951, the biggest challenges
for “Sukumar Sen” (the first election commissioner of India) were

  • India had 17.32 crore electors & the majority of them could not read/write (over 70%).

  • The majority of women did not want to disclose their names and they
    described their names to a male relation (Example X’s wife, X’s
    daughter & X’s mother).

  • The election was held in 68 phases for various reasons.

The data file in *.CSV format can be downloaded from Prime ministers of India

Don't be in delusion, understand the reality from historical data | Copyright © 2020 theDataTalks